
CARD PLAY FUNDAMENTALS:  PART FIVE 

DEFENSE AGAINST NO TRUMP CONTRACTS 

 

Quote of the week:  Growing older is mandatory.  Growing up is optional. 

 

 In order of priority, the opening leads against the opponent’s No Trump contract are 

as follows: 

1. If partner has bid a suit during the course of the auction lead that suit. 

2. If you hold a “solid honor sequence” in a suit holding five or more cards, lead the top 

of   the sequence.  For example:  KQJ98  QJT65  AKQ54  JT973 

3. Lead “fourth down” from your longest and strongest suit.  When your partner 

ascertains that this is the case, he can apply the Rule of Eleven to determine how 

many cards that the declarer holds in that suit that are higher than the one led by 

partner.  (See previous lesson for Rule of Eleven specifics). 

 

 How many cards does declarer hold that are higher than the one led by partner in 

each of the following examples? 

 

 Partner    Dummy    You  

     5       KQ43     J82 

 _____ 

 

 Partner    Dummy    You 

     2       9865     KJ3 

 ____ 

 

 Partner    Dummy    You 

     7        K54     AJ62 

 _____ 

 

 Partner    Dummy    You 

    K        976     T43 

 _____ 



 Contract = 3NT.  Opening lead = Five of Clubs.  This one is tough!  1.  Recognize 

that your partner may have more than four cards in the led suit.  2.  Your play of the cards 

must allow for your partner to “collect” all available winners in that suit. 

 

 Partner    Dummy    You 

           KT854        763     AJ2 

 

 a. How many cards higher than the Five of Clubs does the declarer hold?  _____ 

 b. Regardless of what card that declarer calls from dummy, what card should you    

     play?  _____  Assuming that you win the trick, what card must you return to your    

     partner?  _____ 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Answer:  Declarer has two cards higher than the Five of Clubs as you can see four 

of them.   Having this information, it is important to “knock out” the declarer’s Club 

stoppers.  To that end, you should immediately play your Ace and return the Jack.  

Why?  First, if partner has four or more clubs, dummy has three and you have three, 

declarer has, at most, three.  Second, by playing the Ace and returning the Jack you 

will force declarer to play his only honor.  In this example, this works perfectly, as 

your partner will cover declarer’s Queen (he started with the Q9) with his K and run 

the remainder of his suit.   

 Assume, however, that your partner had only four clubs (KT85) and declarer 

holds the (Q94).  Your Ace will win the first trick and when you play the Jack if 

declarer ducks you continue with the two and partner will cash his fourth club.   

 In both instances, if you fail to play the Ace followed by the Jack, you will give 

the opponent the opportunity to, perhaps, score nine tricks in the other three suits.  


